Hit Counter 0004617324 Since: 15-03-2011

Photo Gallery

click to view photo gallery

view photo gallery

Telephone NUMBERS

Uttarakhand Goverment Portal, India (External Website that opens in a new window) http://india.gov.in, the National Portal of India (External Website that opens in a new window)




The Township of Almora is the district headquarter and has all the facilities for a tourist of twenty first century. This ancient hill station is reputed for it's health giving climate and is perched on a five Km. long horse saddle shape ridge in between the river Kosi and Suyal and has been a cultural and political region of Kumaun for almost four hundred years, settled by Chand Rajas and nurtured by the British.

 One can have a panoramic view of the snowy peaks of Himalayas on any clear day and in addition a glimpse of the township with it's tiled roofed houses and paved streets would take you to the sixteenth century in some thoughtful moment.

Nearby places of tourist interest where an excursion can be made within a day are Bright End Corner's unforgettable sunset, Chitai temple with it's unique collection of brass bells of all sizes, gifted to the temple by devotees since centuries, Kasar Devi which houses many Europeans who fell in love with the place so much that they settle down, Nanda Devi Temple the cultural and religious center of Almora for now hundreds of years and Lala Bazar a unique market of more than two hundred years with paved streets of stone.

The district of Almora is located in the province of Uttarakhand in India. In east lies the district of Pithoragarh bordering Tibet and it's west lies the district of Garhwal and it's North lies the newly created district of Bageshwer and in the South there is the district Nainital. The location of the township of Almora, the headquarter of the district, viz a viz some important cities of India are as given below in road Kms.Map of India : Location of Almora and some major attractions around Almora

Place Distance (in kms.)
Lucknow 466
Nainital 63
Delhi 380
Ranikhet 50
Haridwar 357
Kausani 52
Dehradun 412
Bageshwar 90
Bareilly . .205
Pithogarah 120
Saharanpur 462
Lohaghat 135
Moradabad 204
Tanakpur 217
Kathgodam 90
Jalana 32
Haldwani 96
Jageshwar 38
Gwaldam 90
Dwarahat 71
Shitla Khet  
Patal Bhubneshwer  
Source : District Administration-Almora, Uttarakhand, Last Updated on 20-04-2018